United States, Canada, Mexico To Host 2026 World Cup


The 2026 World Cup has been awarded to 'United 2026', a joint bid from the United States, Canada and Mexico.

The vote was held at the 68th FIFA Congress in Russia this morning.

Of the 16 host cities, 10 will be in the United States with 3 each in Canada and Mexico.

The final will be held (And the famous trophy lifted) at the 84,953-capacity MetLife Stadium, which is home to NFL sides the New York Giants and the New York Jets.


The US, Canada and Mexico joint bid is promising Fifa associations profits of $11bn (£8.2bn) compared to around $6bn (£4.48bn) from Morocco. One of the decisive factors is also thought to be the infrastructure already in place within the USA, Canada and Mexico in comparison to Morocco where stadiums still need to be built.

Candidate Host Cities

Los Angeles, California - Rose Bowl
New York City, New York - MetLife Stadium
Washington, D.C - FedEx Field
Dallas, Texas - AT&T Stadium
Kansas City, Missouri - Arrowhead Stadium
Denver, Colorado - Sports Authority Field at Mile High
Houston, Texas - NRG Stadium
Blatimore, Maryland - M&T Bank Stadium
Atlanta, Georgia - Mercedes Benz Stadium
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - Lincoln Financial Field
Nashville, Tennessee - Nissan Stadium
Seattle, Washington - CenturyLink Field
San Francisco, California - Levi's Stadium
Boston, Massachusetts - Gillette Stadium
Cincinnati, Ohio - Paul Brown Stadium
Orlando, Florida - Camping World Stadium
Miami, Florida - Hard Rock Stadium

Montreal, Quebec - Olympic Stadium
Edmonton, Alberta - Commonwealth Stadium
Toronto, Ontario - BMO Field

Mexico City - Estadio Azteca
Monterray, Nuevo Leon - Estadio BBVA Bancomer
Guadalajara, Jalisco - Estadio Akron


For MLS news and to listen to the MLS UK Show podcast, follow @MLSUKShow on twitter.



NewsElliot Holman