Four Finalists Named For MLS Expansion


Four potential teams have been chosen to fill two expansion spaces in Major League Soccer for 2019.

Cincinnati, Detroit, Nashville and Sacramento have been selected by MLS as the four finalists out of an original twelve.

"The leaders of the Cincinnati, Detroit, Nashville and Sacramento MLS expansion ownership groups have bold visions and innovative plans for their clubs, stadiums and their involvement in their respective communities," said Commissioner Garber. "We are pleased these highly-respected business and sports leaders have been so determined to bring Major League Soccer to their cities. We have been greatly encouraged by the progress that all four of these groups have made and we are looking forward to their presentations."


The clubs that have failed in this particular bid to be the 24th and 25th club in the league will have the opportunity to put forward their bids in the future. These teams include Charlotte, Indianapolis, Phoenix, Raleigh/Durham, St. Louis, San Antonio, San Diego and Tampa/St.Petersburg.

Following the presentations on December 6, a meeting on Dec 14 between the MLS Board of Governors will include discussions of expansion with ownership representatives from each club currently in MLS.

Los Angeles FC are already confirmed to become the league's 23rd club and will begin their MLS journey at the start of the 2018 season.

For the latest MLS news, updates and podcasts, follow @MLSUKShow on twitter.

NewsElliot Holman