Greg Vanney Named 2017 MLS Coach of the Year


Toronto FC coach, Greg Vanney has been named 2017 MLS Coach of the Year following his teams record breaking points tally during the regular season.

His side set the all time points record with 69 and tied Seattle Sounders' 2014 win total of 20 on their way to lifting the Supporters' Shield and clinching number 1 seed in the post-season playoffs.

Toronto already won both the Canadian Championship and the Supporters' Shield and will be looking to complete a domestic treble by lifting the MLS Cup, too.

Vanney is in his third full season in charge of the Canadian side and won the 2017 Coach of the Year vote by over 15 percent with Atlanta United's Tata Martino coming second.

Recent years have seen Oscar Pareja of FC Dallas (2016), Jesse Marsch of New York Red Bulls (2015) and Ben Olsen of DC United (2014) picking up the award which is voted for by supporters, clubs and media.

For the latest MLS news, updates and podcasts follow @MLSUKShow on twitter.